Buhari asks that Senate affirm eight new Supreme Court Justices

President Muhammadu Buhari has asked that the Senate endorse the appointments of eight new Supreme Court Justices.

This was contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, during plenary on Tuesday.

Lawan noticed that the appointments were based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council (NJC).

Buhari, in the letter, noticed that his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees are Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are: Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South-South)