Federal Government placed 6 month ban on 100 more travelers for violating COVID-19 protocols

For avoiding COVID-19 directives, the federal government has placed a six-month travel limitation on another batch of 100 travelers.

An assertion by @DigiCommsNG, the authority Twitter handle of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, uncovered that the restrictions took effect from February 5, and will elapse by July 30.

The travelers were sanctioned for failing to comply with the mandatory post-arrival COVID-19 test.

“Presidential Task Force sanctions 100 passports in the second batch of those who failed to comply with the mandatory Day 7 post-arrival COVID-19 Test. PENALTY: six-month travel restriction from February 5 to July 30, 2021,” the task force tweeted.

The PTF likewise released the passport numbers of the defaulting travelers.

In January, the government placed a six-month travel ban on travelers who failed to undergo the compulsory COVID-19 test after arriving in the country.

In November, the PTF took steps to sanction travelers who refused to present themselves for a mandatory in-country polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test.

The Chairman of the PTF, Boss Mustapha, had said the sanctions would include the suspension of passports of such defaulting individuals for six months minimum or outright visa cancellation.