FG suspends Visa on arrival, restricts travellers from 13 countries

The Nigerian Government has temporarily suspended her policy on issuance of visa on arrival, as restriction was also placed on travellers from 13 countries.

The countries are: China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland.

These are countries with more than 1,000 cases domestically.

This was contained in an announcement from the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, a copy of which was gotten by NAN on Wednesday .

Mustapha said the limitation was part of further measures agreed by the Presidential Task Force for the Control of COVID-19 and the measures would take effect from Saturday 21st March 2020 and will last for four weeks subject to review.

The SGF, who said these measures were being taken after an assessment of the global situation, noted that all persons arriving in Nigeria who might have visited these countries, fifteen days prior to arrival, will be subjected to supervised self-isolation and testing for 14 days.

“The Federal Government likewise asked Public Health Authorities of nations with high burden to conduct diligent departure screening of passengers and furthermore endorsed this travel advisories to their nationals to postpone travels to Nigeria”,, the announcement included .